Daily Archives: July 11th, 2011

Old Favourites: Hoodoo Gurus – “What’s My Scene?”

“Where’s my Juliet, baby? Is it maybe my Midsummer Night’s Dream?”

Here’s a blast from the past for you, spurred on by some late-night watching of Music MAX and watching their top fifty classic Aussie rock videos. It got me thinking about mine, and if pressed I’d probably have to put this one from the Hoodoo Gurus up near the top. It’s hard to remember exactly where I first saw it, but Lord knows it was many moons ago. I do have a distinct recollection of seeing it listed on video jukeboxes everywhere growing up, whether that was at the bowling alley or wherever my family had decided to go for dinner that evening, even at the pub I was once taken to as a little’un – no recollection of what I was doing there, but there you are. My policy was simple: If I couldn’t have Metallica‘s Unforgiven II, then this would have to suffice.

Not that this was anything to do with second best – I absolutely loved this video. The mixing and matching through split screens was something I’d seen done by my old mates The Wiggles earlier on, but after finding out this video predated that I felt a little gipped! It’s a very fun video, unashamedly 80s in nature and quite cheeky – something the band were more or less notorious for from a video perspective. Look out for the priest, the cowboy and Dave Faulkner‘s mullet to end all mullets – pure class!

Watch This Now: Owl Eyes – “Raiders”

“I’ll give it all that I have to give…”

It was interesting to do a Google Images search for Brooke Addamo to get the picture you see above. She’s certainly come a long way since her time as a naive teen on Idol, having evolved into a unique pop artist with a strong, textured voice – but she’s also developed from a purely creative perspective. Following on from the dark, strangely sexy video of Faces late last year comes an intriguing adventure centred around the title track of her new EP, Raiders.

For this clip, Addamo appears to have gone for a mix of a gypsy queen and Xena: Warrior Princess, dancing and singing around a bizarre alternative universe that expands from barren tennis courts to mystic rivers. She carries a bow and arrow, but exactly what she needs to protect herself from won’t be initially clear. Maybe it even won’t be by the end of it, who knows? It’s all about how you interpret it – but it’s a beautifully shot and well-paced video all the same. Top work, Addamo.