Watch This Now: Andy Bull – “Baby I am Nobody Now”

 

“I could be one in a million, baby, but I’m nobody now…”

Normally, I don’t link to photos but I really want you to check out Daniel Boud‘s work, so go click on Andy’s gorgeous face there to see more stunning portraits like this one. One of the finest photographers in the country – perhaps one of the best Aussie photographers ever? He’d have my vote. Anyway, let’s move on. Andy Bull, everyone! Yeah, he nailed the comeback single and video combination with the bizarre Keep on Running a little while back, and I guess he figured he could go two from two with the release of Baby I am Nobody Now. Guess what? Bullseye! Yeah, don’t act like you didn’t see what I did there.

The video for Baby… takes us into an extended movie trailer, staring the man himself in the lead role. He plays an estranged loner, attempting to get his life back together through meagre jobs and quiet introspection. He begins to long for how his life used to be, and a series of flashbacks assist with it. Be sure to look out for a few of the old friends, as Sydney music/media-heads will definitely recognise a couple of them. Jake Stone from BluejuiceTim Derricourt from Dappled Cities and even old mate Dan Ilic make apperances. Maybe it was just for the trainspotters, but I thought it was a really cool touch. This is potentially the best clip that Mr. Bull has ever done – I love the pacing and the imagery, which meld into the song and its themes perfectly. I thought it would be good to kick off the week in such a triumphant fashion. Hope this sticks with you for the rest of the day!

One response

  1. I only just saw this (in a bout of self googling). Thanks for the kind words. It’s great working with Andy. We shot a new video last night. Should be out soon.

Leave a Reply

