Watch This Now: Panic! At the Disco – “This is Gospel”

“These words are nice enough to leave scars, for fear of falling apart…”

Y’know, I’ve come to the conclusion that I will love very, very few bands as much as I love Panic! At the Disco. Since I first discovered them some seven years ago, they’ve been a big part of my life. I’m fully aware that they have detracted significantly in the public eye, but they’ve always been front and centre for me. Why? Honestly, I can’t pin it down to one thing. I guess they came along at the right time and it’s been an unconditional love affair since then. It happens, y’know?

So yes, another album – their fourth – and another line-up (it has literally changed with every album). We have a new guy on bass, Dallon Weekes, who join the core of vocalist Brendon Urie and drummer Spencer Smith. We got a new song from them a month or so ago entitled Miss Jackson. I liked it, but the video left a lot to be desired. This is Gospel, however, captured me from the get-go. Not only is it a wonderfully dynamic piece of power-pop, but the video is striking and decidedly different to previous efforts. We’re up close and personal with Urie – and that’s definitely not a bad thing. Amirite? Ladies? Ladies? …ladies? Where was I? Oh yes, Brendon houdinis himself about the place with seamless editing and some great pacing that works well with the song itself. Much like Arctic Monkeys earlier today, I honestly don’t think P!ATD have made this good a video in a really, really long time. It’s a great feeling, actually. The new record can’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

