Watch This Now: David Bridie – “Delegate”

“Close the blinds and lock the doors, those outsiders have thieving paws…”

Okay, I’ll admit. I’m a busy dude. I have places to be, people to see, songs to sing, articles to write, Tweets to send to random YouTube celebrities, videos to watch… there’s a lot on my plate. So, sometimes, I let things build up. I’ve been sitting on this new video from David Bridie, the veteran Australian songwriter behind bands like Not Drowning, Waving and My Friend the Chocolate Cake for a couple of weeks now. I just hadn’t gotten around to it until this week. It was at the top of the pile of roughly a dozen video clips and I only JUST watched it. This week.

Why am I telling you all this? More or less just to establish that yes, I am indeed a fucking idiot sometimes.

Delegate, the first video from David’s most recent solo album Wake, is one of the best Australian filmclips I have seen in a very, very, very long time. It’s a confronting, eerily beautiful and profound video. The likes of which haven’t been seen in quite some time. It’s a bold statement wrapped in cryptic messages and surrealism. The dialogue is displayed, rather than said out loud. It would disrupt the flow of the song. We find ourselves in an office, where an employee simply looking out the window and daydreaming turns into something gravely serious. This might take a few views to get your head around. It certainly did for me. I wouldn’t recommend you watch it at your own work, either; or if you’re somewhat sensitive. In any and all other circumstances, however, Y,WGAV! gives you a big, bright green light. Watch this by any means necessary. It’s vital that you do.

One response

Leave a Reply

