Watch This Now: Roadgeek – “Towards the Sun”

“Only now are we looking forward, uninstructed by old blood and bone…”

As much as I love compiling end-of-year lists, I do love seeing what others come up with – just on the off chance that they saw or heard something that I didn’t. I first crossed paths with Melbourne’s Roadgeek in such an instance, where his outstanding video for On the Borderline came to my attention via rage‘s fan-voted countdown of the best clips of the year. I like to think of myself as a pretty ear-to-the-ground sort of guy, so the fact I’d never seen or heard anything from the prodigious Michael Shanks-fronted project was a big surprise to me. Nevertheless, it was indeed a very pleasant surprise. So, how does one go about following such a warped clip? Easy: Warp even further.

The internet has a pretty steady relationship with cats, but as Towards the Sun shows us, there’s more than meets the eye – or, rather, the creepy human eyes that have been edited on to the cats in question. In a bizarre mash-up between Blur‘s iconic Coffee and TV video and some sort of slasher horror movie, the feline friends take over their town; seemingly as an act of revenge on a creepy taxidermist. Much like the Borderline video, this one initially took me a bit by surprise. I wasn’t sure what to make of it. I’ve found myself growing to love it, though – the main cat is surely one of the greater anti-heroes of 2013 music videos. At least, that’s the way I feel it will be remembered. Anything could happen between here and end of year, but I’ve got a feeling Roadgeek has got a stack of brilliant clips to come.

2 responses

  1. It’s not the Michael Shanks you think it is.

    1. Not the droid I’m looking for?

Leave a Reply

