Old Favourites: Local H – “All the Kids Are Right”

“You thought that we would rock, and knock it up a notch…”

We’ve talked about Local H before, namely their mammoth single Bound to the Floor. Truth be told, that was not my first experience with the band. No, it came around 8 or 9 years old, where I saw this video, for their less-successful track All the Kids Are Right. I enjoyed it so much that I went out and bought the single – which, funnily enough, had Bound to the Floor as an acoustic B-side. So, was I just merely infatuated by the rockin’ tune itself? Upon review, I’m gonna go with “not quite.”

Y’see, this is a really, really clever video. I might not have even realised it fully when I watched it the first time around, but it may have set in subliminally. The video takes place at a venue where a Local H show is happening. The twist is that Local H themselves are the only people that are there. No, seriously! Everyone in the audience, the guys doing the sound, the merch guys, the security, the scalper out the front – all of them are played by either vocalist/guitarist Scott Lucas or drummer Joe Daniels, who left the band about a year later. It’s brilliantly edited for something that came out 15 years ago. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw it again all those years later. Those clever bastards!

Leave a Reply

