Watch This Now: MS MR – “Hurricane”

“I jumped the gun, so sure you’d hit and run…”

To start off the week, I thought I’d discuss how – once again – the medium of the music video has made me a fan of an artist I wasn’t so much of previously. For context, I’ve heard the name MS MR (say it “Miss Mister”) thrown around a bit late last year, particularly when it came to their breakthrough single Hurricane. Despite repeated radio airplay and my friends in Sietta covering the track, I just never got too excited about the band. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but I just felt like something was missing when I listened to their music.

Upon watching this music video, I made the realisation that this was it. The missing piece. The thing that would make me stand up and pay attention to MS MR and what they had to offer. Through an utterly fascinating and strikingly powerful video, I am now immersed in the song, its melodies, its overtones, the works. How did this happen? Buddy, have you looked at this thing? It’s a thing of utter splendour. Using a myriad of boldly contrasting colours, we are lead into a world of deviancy, unruliness and perceived sin. When these thing take place, the colours run. They bleed. They consume people entirely. True colours, if you will. This clip more or less left me completely stunned. I’m still wrapping my head around it. Well done, MS MR. You got my vote.

Leave a Reply

