Watch This Now: Jessie Ware – “Sweet Talk”

“Don’t keep me with the kisses, there’s never any doubts when I need you…”

I’ll be completely honest – I’m only going to Laneway Festival for Cloud Nothings and Japandroids at this stage. There’s still a lot that I haven’t checked out on the line-up – among the top of the list, until quite recently, was UK chanteuse Jessie Ware. I’ve seen her bandied about the place quite a bit lately, but I just didn’t have the time to get around to her. That was, of course, until this adorable little clip landed in my lap – or, at least, on my desktop. Whichever seems more pleasing to you, really.

Here, a kid version of Jessie works with a kid version of a producer to create the sultry pop magic that’s going on in the background (that was surprise number one, really – this shit is GOOD!) and ultimately perform it to their parents. Admittedly, it’s not all that original a concept – we’ve seen kid versions of rockstars many, many times in the past; from Grandaddy to Powderfinger. That said, there’s something still so wondrous and sweet about the interaction between the two kids in this video, from their work in the “studio” to their playful lunch break. It’s funny, it’s cute and it lures you into the music itself. Mmm, more please.

Leave a Reply

