Watch This Now: The Flaming Lips and Amanda Palmer – “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face”

“I felt your heart so close to mine, and I knew our joy would fill the earth…”

Well, here’s something. As a music video geek, it always exhilarates me when I see that the art of the music video is still something worth investing debate, discussion and reaction into. And so it was, when The Flaming Lips dropped a well and truly messed up video for their collaboration with Erykah Badu, a cover of The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face. You probably missed it, but Badu herself fiercely cracked the shits with the band, claiming it offended her. It’s all out on the interwebs anyway, I can’t add anything to the debate either way. All I know is that I love the Flips for not letting it deter them one bit.

Exit Badu, enter Amanda Fucking Palmer. Already on the campaign trail for her first studio album in four years, Theatre is Evil, AFP happily takes over on vocals and nudity for this video clip. It’s a slew of slow-mo shots of the band doing weird shit like hit fake fur with wire cables and twirl around bits of silver. Amanda, meanwhile, flounders about in the bath. It is, as one should surely expect by now, completely and utterly fucking insane. That’s why it’s such an entertaining prospect, though – I really could never expect anything less from either camp involved. See what you make of it. Smile a little.

Leave a Reply

