Old Favourites: Stardust – “Music Sounds Better with You”

“Love might bring us back together, I feel so good…”

Ahh yes, 1998. My year. Your year. Our year. What a fucking stellar year for pop music, while we’re on the topic. This was the year that I began religiously watching the rage broadcast of the ARIA top 50 singles every Saturday morning. I became completely engrossed by the charts and the various ups and downs that would come with it. One video that particularly sticks out when I think of this obsession was the video for Music Sounds Better with You.

Stardust was a one-off collaboration featuring Daft Punk‘s Thomas Bangalter, and the mysterious trio would only release one song before completely disappearing. Of course, none of this mattered to me at the time: I was too busy watching the remarkable video, which saw a young boy get lost in his own imagination with pure excitement about a model airplane. It takes over his life, to the point where he starts seeing it everywhere around him – even at the humble dinner table. Meanwhile, the pop charts continue to change in the background – see where I’m going with this? Yes, I absolutely saw myself in the video for Music Sounds Better and I have no shame in admitting that. Gorgeously shot and ingeniously plotted, this is a clip that has stuck with me for over a decade. Let it take you back to that time in your life, whatever may have been going on. It doesn’t matter what you were doing – the point is that Music Sounds Better was there to soundtrack it.

Leave a Reply

