Watch This If You Dare: Madonna – “Girls Gone Wild”

“The way he pulls on me, it’s like the force of gravity…”

Well, that was a very brief honeymoon period. I savagely defended Give Me All Your Luvin’, the latest comeback single and video from Madonna, as I thought it was an absolute delight of pop that was easily Madge’s best since at least Hung Up. With all the hugely mixed reviews of MDNA coming in, however, I wasn’t sure that I particularly wanted to investigate further. And yet, here we are. I’ve just finished watching the second video from MDNA, and I can’t say I’m a fan.

Stylistically, the video is a throwback to Vogue in its black-and-white cinematography and its hugely camp backing dancers. That was an iconic video for its time, but you’ve got to remember that was 20 years ago, and you can’t just update something like that by adding in a bit more thrusting and homoerotica. Madge has gone for tacky choreography, delusional “all men want me” scenes and lame computer effects. For an artist that is at a point in her career that she can do literally anything that she wants, it seems odd that she decided to take this creative turn. After the Luvin’ video, this just feels boring. What a shame.

Leave a Reply

