Old Favourites: By Divine Right – “Soft Machine”

“Paranoia will implore ya, classic rock radio destroyer…”

The year was 2004, and I was slowly re-immersing myself in the greatness of the art that is music videos. I’d always kind of thought they were cool, but it was in this year that I really came to meticulously study them and try and figure them out. This clip you’re about to watch, from Canadian indie-rockers By Divine Right, posed a lot of questions in my mind the very first time I watched it. Naturally, the first: Why are there so many guitars? Quickly followed by: Did they do ALL of that in one take? And, finally: What’s up with those alpacas? I have since learned that three guitars just LOOKS cool, they really did do it all in one take, and I still have no idea what’s up with the alpacas.

There’s a lot to take in here, but essentially BDR show you exactly how much wild shit can go on with a few scenery changes, a huge imagination and… yep, just one camera. One take. That’s it, that’s all. That alone was a complete mind-fuck to me. In a way, it still is. All I can really say is that this was a game-changing video for me back in the day, and sadly the years have not been kind to the band at all – their last album was in 2009, and vocalist José Miguel Contreras has had a revolving-door line-up since the band formed way back in 1989. In fact, none of the band members in this clip, aside from Contreras, are actually still in the band. Bummer – that girl guitarist was cute. Canadian indie love, people!

Leave a Reply

