Watch This If You Dare: Justin Bieber – “Mistletoe”

“Lights fill the streets, spreaing so much cheer…”

It pains me to do this. If you know me, you know how much love and respect Justin Bieber. I have both My Worlds, I loved the Never Say Never movie…whenever people would give him shit, I would be straight to his defense. This, however, is inexcusable – I’m iffy about the whole Christmas album thing to begin with, but the Biebs has delivered his most soulless and artificial release to date. There’s so much wrong with it, from a hip-hop Little Drummer Boy to a duet with Mariah Carey, but I think it can all be properly summed up with the clip for the lead single, Mistletoe.

Firstly, I’m freaked out about his voice dropping – I know it’s natural, but it just doesn’t feel right with this kind of music. Not yet, at least. What’s more, Biebs comes off as a total douchenozzle throughout this entire video, leading on one chick and acting all damn cutesy with another. The whole busting-out-verses-in-the-middle-of-the-street thing is totally fucking lame, too – I mean, he’s done some cringeworthy clips in the past, but there’s nothing redeeming here. No choreography, good direction – it doesn’t even seem like a nice location where this was filmed. Damn shame, Biebs. It’s not like you needed the money, either, bastard! Hopefully, this isn’t where JB is headed full-time, but chances are you won’t have a merry Christmas with this particular heartthrob. Guh.

Leave a Reply

