Old Favourites: Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Give It Away”

“How come everybody wanna kick it like the Kaiser?”

As I’m sure you’re all aware, two massive rock records celebrated their 20th anniversary of release over the weekend. Those records were Nirvana‘s Nevermind and the Red Hot Chili PeppersBlood Sugar Sex Magik. I’ve decided to pay small tribute to albums that, although I barely listen to either band anymore, were still decidedly formative in my early years of music listening. Let’s start with the latter – a gateway to a world of funk, rock, metal, pop and everything else in-between to any guitar-hungry kid getting into music. Hell, I probably wouldn’t even know who Stevie Wonder was were it not for this band and their cover of Higher Ground. True!

The Chilis had been on the verge of something pretty massive at the time, and Blood Sugar Sex Magik was exactly what they needed to explode as a global rock phenomenon. It damn-near broke the band – let’s not forget this resulted in the first of two times that guitarist John Frusciante would quit the Chilis – but to me, the end result was more than worth it. We’re going to focus here on the Give It Away clip, which certainly captured my attention the first time I saw it – you mean to tell me these wild-looking dudes covered head to toe in silver paint were responsible for Blood Sugar Sex Magik? That’s…not that surprising, actually.

Essentially, you’re just getting the Chilis having a shitload of fun out in the middle of the desert, getting a little bit freaky and really enjoying that Wayne’s World-esque extreme close-up. Woahhhhhh! A great video that reminds me why I loved the band so much to begin with.

Leave a Reply

