Old Favourites: Lightspeed Champion – “Galaxy of the Lost”

“Hate to think what would happen if I started to drink like you…”

Here’s a quick one to wrap up today’s posting. For many a year, I was obsessed with Lightspeed Champion, the project of former Test Icicles dude Dev Hynes. These days he rocks out under the name Blood Orange, but his debut, Falling Under the Lavender Bridge, holds a great deal of sentimental value to me. My first exposure to it came through this video, which was the first single off the record. I absolutely loved the brilliant contrast between Dev looking absolutely miserable and singing this depressing song of heartache and all the colourful puppets just groovin’ around and having a blast. It’s simple, and it’s been done before, but I’ll be damned if I don’t absolutely love it. Have a geeze!

Leave a Reply

