Old Favourites: The Sleepy Jackson – “Good Dancers”

“My heart is stronger than you all, but I love to watch good dancers talk…”

To wind down for the day, here’s a classic from the early 2000s that I’m particularly fond of. Way before you knew Luke Steele as the evil genius behind Empire of the Sun, he was meticulously creating brilliant pop music under the moniker of The Sleepy Jackson. It saddens me that many EotS fans have probably never heard a Sleepies tune – as much as I dug Walking on a Dream, it simply doesn’t have a patch on an album like Lovers. It’s also my sincere opinion that Luke has never put his name to a better music video than this one.

Although two videos were made for Good Dancers, it’s this one that has stood the test of time and proven to be the more popular – and very deservedly so, I should add. It’s the kind of video that manages to speak quite powerfully on a theme without actually saying anything. A cleaner works his way through what appears to be either a retirement home or a mental institution, falls in love with a worker, dances with her and leaves suddenly, without any warning. There is nothing more to the video, which would lead some to suggest it’s some absurdist form of art. On the contrary, I say.

To me, Good Dancers is a video about the fleeting nature of happiness, those tiny moments of joy that might seem bizarre at the time but later go on to be completely unforgettable. It’s about being swept off your feet and letting your imagination stretch until it snaps. It’s about finding your joy in the most unlikely of places. In a really strange way, it’s kind of about life. Maybe I’m reading too much into it. I don’t know. All I know is that I can’t help but fall in love again and again with this video, and if you’ve never seen it before then I hope you do the same.

One response

  1. …awesome take of “Good Dancers”…I just encounter the power of music from Luke Steele…I love EotS to pieces but I also just adore the music from The Sleepy Jackson’s…and that song/video it’s just amazing, so simple but honest and touching…keep supporting good music/videos :)…B

Leave a Reply

