Old Favourites: Amy Winehouse – “Back to Black”

“We only said goodbye with words, I died a hundred times…”

Well, this certainly isn’t the way I wanted to bring back my blog after a week of slack posting. This is the news that completely shook the foundations of the entertainment industry over the weekend. The news that so many thought they saw coming, yet which still shocked everyone when it was announced. I’m not going to act like I knew her personally, and I’m not going to condone her actions as an addict. What I am going to do, is show you what Amy Winehouse meant to me.

To me, it was never about what you saw in the tabloids or on TMZ or whatever else have you that truly defined what she was about. It was the music – plain and simple, the music. Not watching her get sloshed at a gig and trying to fight some random in the crowd – I’m talking Frank, I’m talking Back to Black, I’m talking all of these great songs and classic singles. That voice – that timeless, shattering voice. That’s what I’m never going to forget. It’s meant so much to me over the years, and will continue to do so for so many more. At times when everyone I knew was against her, I stood up for her. Whenever she was dismissed as talentless, I would vehemently disagree. Fuck, I still will, there’s no argument about it.

I’ve chosen Back in Black over the obvious choices like her cover of Valerie or, of course, Rehab, for a few reasons. First and foremost, I’ve always loved this video – it’s always been a dark and very confronting visual metaphor for heartbreak and the ultimate demise of love. I also feel that the video now takes on a significantly larger impact now – and if you’ve never seen it before, then you’ll know exactly what I mean when you see it. Above all, it’s just a downright classic song, and it’s all come together in a beautiful, beautiful mess.

I cried until I couldn’t cry anymore yesterday. I haven’t been this shaken by a musician’s death since Michael Jackson. I want this blog entry to serve as a release of all that grieving and energy, though. This is my acceptance. This is me starting to celebrate the music that was left behind. This is me remembering everything Amy Winehouse gave me. I don’t expect you to understand – I don’t even expect you to care. All I ask is that you listen.

Leave a Reply

