Watch This Now: Coldplay – “Every Teardrop is a Waterfall”

“I shut the world outside, ’til the lights come on…”

For as long as it’s been naff, uncool – and, some 40 Year Old Virgin fans would argue, downright gay – to be a Coldplay fan, I’ve been one. I’m totally fine with that, too, btw – I maintain that each of their albums contains some truly fantastic songs, and some even better videos to go along with them. I mean Yellow, Don’t Panic, The Scientist, The Hardest Part, Strawberry Swing…some defining videos of the decade, and definitely some of my personal favourites. Right now, they’re onto a whole new bag of tricks, as they experiment with motion photography and ridiculously bright colour schemes – and it’s working pretty damn well for them, if you ask me.

Every Teardrop is a Waterfall contains relatively little video footage, but instead uses a series of photographs for each scene, as the band takes over little places of the underground with their crazy paintings and wild graffiti. Watching the band perform while their backgrounds change rapidly is no trick – a team of artists has actually gone in there and DONE all of that. Visually, at the very least, this is a feast for the eyes. I love the positivity and energy in this video, and I really am taken aback by it all. This will probably be dismissed as utterly, utterly gay by the band’s legion of naysayers, but bring it on. I didn’t care back when I professed my love for the Yellow video, and I sure as hell am not going to care now!

One response

  1. […] Read my original blog on Every Teardrop is a Waterfall here. […]

Leave a Reply

