Watch This Now: The Grates – “Turn Me On”

“Wrap your arms around me, do it…”

Wooo! Five semesters of uni down and one to go! Not gonna lie, I’m pretty excited by this premise, and I’m going to celebrate the only way I know how – with more and more videos! You’re in for a massive week, so let’s start off with the awesome new clips from one of my favourite Aussie bands, The Grates. I’ve been absolutely loving their new single, Turn Me On, for quite some time; so, naturally, being the nerd that I am, have been hotly anticipating its visual counterpart. Happy to report that Patience and John have gone above and beyond the call of duty here – I was expecting something pretty good, but this is a mindfuck of awesome.

Shot entirely in black and white, this video focuses on a series of seemingly-random imagery involving the two Grates that all seems to flow together beautifully in the moments of the song in which they fall. It’s certainly a far cry from their normally bright and dancy style of video which they’ve perhaps become best known for, but in a way that’s why I really like it. They’re simply paying respect to their past by letting it be, forging a new artistic direction in both the aesthetics and the sound of the band. It’s not long until new album Secret Rituals drops, and I can’t wait to see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

