Old Favourites: Metallica – “One”

“Darkness, imprisoning me, all that I see, absolute horror…”

I think we all deserve a bit of Metallica for lunch, wouldn’t you agree? As I’m writing this, I am literally eating Weet Bix for lunch – so I figured the faithful half-dozen readers of this blog deserved something a little tastier. This is the first time I’ve ever featured ‘Tallica on my blog, so I figured what better place to debut them than with their very first video?

One was seen as quite a ballsy move at the time by the band. A few albums in, many accused them of “selling out” by making a video – probably as many people that think that the band “sold out” with The Black Album. The reality of the situation, however, is that this was far more than a black-and-white performance video. One is a brilliant reflection on the song, particularly the mood and the intensity of it all. It’s a mix of the band jamming out the song (love the guitar close-ups in particular) and footage from the film Johnny Got His Gun. It can get downright disturbing at times, as the band soundtrack the central character’s downfall into madness. Complete nightmare material for me growing up – but now that the bedbugs don’t bite as badly as they used to, I can fully appreciate the genius of this video.

Leave a Reply

