Old Favourites: Snoop Doggy Dogg – “Who Am I? (What’s My Name?)”


“Nine-trizzay’s the yizzear for me to fuck up shit…”

Oh, yeah, you know it. Time once again for me to prove how embarrassingly white I actually am. Here’s a video from the archives so far back that it was before Snoop Dogg was known as…well, Snoop Dogg. Here, he is Snoop Doggy Dogg, with probably his most famous video from the era.  He’ll be in the country next month, headlining Supafest alongside Nelly, Busta Rhymes, Taio Cruz and a stack of others, so I figured I’d pay tribute to the dude that can make even a painfully white dude such as myself feel like the nastiest gangsta you could ever come across.

Our hero gets up to some freaky shit here – after trashing some chick’s yard and then trashing the chick herself, he lets off potentially THE coolest line to come out of a nineties video (“You don’t love me – you just love my doggystyle”) and turns into an actual dog. After biting the father of the chick, off he goes to do what every nineties gangsta does – hang with the crew and just be the coolest dude he can possibly be. Is it tacky and very obviously nineties? Shit yeah. That’s what makes it so GOOD, yaknowutahmsane? Also of note: look out for the brilliantly comic dog-catchers, and Dr. Dre turning up to spit a couple of lines. Awww yeh, throw yr gang signs up and shit!

Leave a Reply

