Watch This If You Dare: Avril Lavigne – “What the Hell”

“So what if I go out on a million dates?”

Hi hi hi hi hi hi! So, I’m back – been busy with a lot of different things, and also had my internet in repair so I was out of action for the better part of a week. Thankfully, I’m back now and generating content like a motherfucker. So, I have two things to apologise for: firstly, for being away. And secondly, for what I am about to show you.

Now, I honestly didn’t things could get much worse for Avril Lavigne. And considering her last album was responsible for such atrocities as Girlfriend and Hot, I really didn’t want them to. Yet here we are, in 2011, a decade or so after she first broke through with Complicated, putting to record THE worst thing she has ever been involved with – the song and the video, What the Hell.

Aside from the nauseating song itself, the video is a demonic exercise in shameless self-promotion. Product placement, for one, is usually the work of pure evil. Okay, so I let it slide in the Hold It Against Me video awhile back, but this is nothing short of ridiculous – especially the part where she runs into the clothing store and picks out her OWN FUCKING CLOTHES FROM HER LABEL! I mean, come on! The whole thing is just tacky and annoying, as she attempts to once again reinvent herself as a a pop icon and sex symbol. Newsflash, betch – ain’t gonna happen. Check it out, anyway – it’s like a bandaid. Just rip it off.

Leave a Reply

