My Favourite Video: Monique Schafter

Monique Schafter is an Australian writer, producer and musician.
She is best known for her work as a part of the Hungry Beast team.
Her favourite video is Welcome to the Jungle by Guns N Roses.

I love this clip cos it’s all about Axl. With a frontman like that, who needs an uber-narrative, lame-arse guest rapper (I’m talking to you, Snoop) or fancy special FX? Just let the man do his thing… and in Axl’s case, it’s the totally awesome maneuvre known as the ‘The Snake’. That slinky rock star move where he shimmies from side to side in time with the music. I emulate this move whenever I’m drunk, regardless of what music is playing… if any.

I also love this clip ’cause it’s about Axl being corrupted. He gets off the bus an innocent country boy with a piece of grass sticking out of his mouth, only to be pounced on by a drug dealer and aroused by a panty-ho’d lady in the gritty urban JUNGLE that is NYC. Yep, the sex, drugs and rock’n’roll of New York turn Axl into a writhing wild animal rock star. Welcome to the jungle, Axl!

And then there’s the straightjacket sequence where they force him to watch episodes of Baywatch and NYPD Blue (I think??) and Axl totally wigs out. It’s straight out of Clockwork Orange! LOVE IT.

Most of all I love Axl’s look in this clip… the crazy teased up strawberry-blonde hair, the make up, muscle top, spray-on leather pants = total androg hotness.

I was around 6 or 7 when this clip came out, and just like Axl, I was totally corrupted… and that is why ‘Welcome To The Jungle’ by Guns ‘N Roses is my favourite music video of all time… and that is also why I dance funny.

Leave a Reply

