Old Favourites: Smashing Pumpkins “Tonight, Tonight”

“Believe in me, ’cause I believe in you tonight…”

Back in around the fourth or fifth grade, I remember filling out a profile/survey thing so we could look back at the end of the year and see if we’d changed. Under the category of “Favourite Song”, I put this. My infatuation with the music video had just begun to kick into full swing, and to this day I’m certain that I picked this song, at least partially, for its video clip. I was amazed by it – and a bit over a decade on from seeing it for the first time, it still one of my all-time favourites.

For me, this documents the best time to be a Smashing Pumpkins  fan – the classic line-up, the classic songs and even a couple of classic videos for good measure. Timeless in its spectacle, the video is a dreamscape of launching a spacebound zeppelin interspersed with footage of the band performing amongst the clouds. It’s quite unlike any of the videos of the time – and we’re not just talking of the Pumpkins’ videography; this is a truly inspired video. The idea of shooting the main storyline in the style of a silent film (particularly the film A Trip to the Moon) was influenced by direction duo Jonathan Dayton and Valerie Faris, who saw the cover of Mellon Collie and had it remind them of the silent film era. It’s a film clip of adventure, of science fiction and of a twisted, almost Gothic imagination – from the battles with various creatures to the scowling face of the moon,  there are so many memorable aspects of this video it’s hard to package it all into one blog. It’s hard to describe how much I love this one, but the best thing I can do is let you see it for yourself. Let’s pretend that SP don’t exist any more and that Billy hasn’t been defacing their name with a slew of randoms…ahh, bliss.

Leave a Reply

